Division 1 – Soil in Space and Time

The scientific structure of the SBCS is composed of four Divisions, which are subdivided into nine  Specialized Commissions in the different areas of Soil Science.

Upon becoming members of the SBCS, researchers choose to participate in up to two Commissions of any Division.

The Divisions are managed by a Director, an assistant Director, a title-holding member, and a substitute chosen from among the members of each Division. Each Commission is managed by a Coordinating Committee, made up of a Coordinator, an assistant Coordinator, and three other members, also elected from among the members of each Commission.

The SBCS anticipates that the Divisions and Commissions strengthen research in their respective areas and have influence and representation in the national and regional sphere in science and also in political policy, creating and conveying proposals and motions in the name of the Society.

Meet the members of Division 1

Division I – Soil in Space and Time

Ademir Fontana (Director)

Milton Cesar Costa Campos (Deputy Director).

Commission 1.1. Soil genesis and morphology

Ademir Fontana (Coordinator),

Marcos Gervásio Pereira (Vice-Coordinator)

Ingrid Horák Terra and Antônio Carlos de Azevedo (Full Members)

Virlei Alvaro de Oliveira, José Coelho Araújo Filho and Fabrício Pedron (Alternate Members).

Commission 1.2. Soil Survey and Classification

Milton Cesar Costa Campos (Coordinator)

José Coelho de Araújo Filho (Vice-Coordinator)

Pablo Miguel and José Francisco Lumbreras (Full Members)

Arcangelo Loss and Elilson Gomes de Brito Filho (Alternate Members)

Commission 1.3. Pedometrics

Waldir de Carvalho Junior (Coordinator)

Fabricio da Silva Terra (Vice-Coordinator)

Alessandro Samuel Rosa and Ricardo Simão Diniz Dalmolin (Full Members)

Márcio Rocha Francelino and Gustavo Souza Valladares (Alternate Members)

Commission 1.4. Paleopedology

Ingrid Horak Terra (Coordinator)

Marcia Regina Calegari (Vice-Coordinator)