Soil Use and Management

The scientific structure of the SBCS is composed of four Divisions, which are subdivided into nine Specialized Commissions in the different areas of Soil Science.

Upon becoming members of the SBCS, researchers choose to participate in up to two Commissions of any Division.

The Divisions are managed by a Director, an assistant Director, a title-holding member, and a substitute chosen from among the members of each Division. Each Commission is managed by a Coordinating Committee, made up of a Coordinator, an assistant Coordinator, and three other members, also elected from among the members of each Commission.

The SBCS anticipates that the Divisions and Commissions strengthen research in their respective areas and have influence and representation in the national and regional sphere in science and also in political policy, creating and conveying proposals and motions in the name of the Society.

Division 3


Director: Alberto Carlos de Campos Bernardi 

a) Commission 3.1. Soil fertility and plant nutrition.
b) Commission 3.2. Soil and water management and conservation.
c) Commission 3.3. Land use planning.
d) Commission 3.4. Pollution, soil restoration and recovery of degraded areas.